"Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows..."  Isaiah 53:4

The grieving process commonly consists of different stages.  People usually go through all of these stages but may do so in various ways.  The grieving process looks differently for everyone.

  • Shock and Denial:  Unable to feel much of anything, feeling numb, weak, or overwhelmed.
  • Anger:  Blaming others for the loss or change; feeling irritable; thinking it's unfair
  • Guilt:  Blaming self for something you did or did not do prior to the loss.
  • Bargaining:  Trying to make a deal with God to change the situation.
  • Depression:  Deep sadness, disturbed sleep and eating patterns, crying, feelings of hopelessness or helplessness, loss of energy.
  • Acceptance:  A sense of peace that comes after working through the previous stages and a sense of hope for the future.

Grief & Loss in Adults

Sometime we will all experience grief.  Click for more information.

Coping with Suicide

Coping with a suicide is extremely difficult.  Click for help and more information on suicide.

Grief & Loss in Children

Children often have great difficulty understanding their grief.  Click for more information on children and grief.

Stillbirth, Miscarriage, & Infant Death

Click to learn more about this special kind of grief.
Free business joomla templates